Lo Que Pica el Gallo

Hablando de lo que pica el gallo…formando un arroz con mango.

La Chonga

Not hating on my $2.99 discounted at the flea market Mami’s, but lets get down to the basic truth: the typical Chonga. She sports tight jeans (spandex fabric), usually has long curled fingernails (think Ivy Queen), and usually has a chancleta on; since it’s 2011 maybe not so much the Chinese slipper style anymore.

Don’t get me wrong, even this Kendall chick went through a minor chongivity activity stage at 13, but in my defense it was the style and it lasted 2 weeks because my mother refused to let me leave the house wearing brown lip-liner and hoops with a bun! Plus the chancletaso on my culito started to leave a bruise!

But we got to appreciate Las Chongitas. Why? Well, because they are 1.Funny 2. Always helpful when you are arguing with la mujer en Navarro who won’t give you a discount and 3. They usually have a tough swagger, which gives a sense of empowerment for women (come on, have an open mind here!)

Chongis (my little nickname for them) tend to stick together, they usually snap their fingers and speak heavy HEAVY Spanglish while masticando chicle. My soul sisters tend to like bright colors; usually they admire neon. They like everything bright and neon because,god forbid they lose their voice, their outfit will scream right at you for them. Sometimes you can hear them around the corner, whether it be from the noise that her signature bangles (typically gold) make or from her yelling into her cellphone because “I know right girl, no she didn’t”. Luckily for the men dating these women, if they ever forget their names they can read it off their name plated necklaces (I have one too, as a gift from my Quinces, as a Cuban tradition). Also men, do not be afraid of these women. That scary angry look is permanent due to the over tweezing and tattooing of the eyebrows. Deep down inside, you may find some dulce de leche there.

If you find it hard to point out a chonga and are curious to know exactly what they look like Chonga go to the hair aisle in Sedano’s and they are standing in front of the gel section. Other hot spots for these mami’s are Dolphin mall, Westland Mall, and areas on 8th street.

About Lauren

I love Cultures, Cities, and Cuisine. My Abuela's flan is better than yours. I love Miami but my heart is New York.

5 comments on “La Chonga

  1. Nikkeya
    January 3, 2011

    jajajajaj i wrote on those name platte necklas too… ke chisotoso!!

  2. Vanessa
    January 4, 2011

    LOL So true!! I love it!! Great writing!

  3. Ash
    January 21, 2011

    Ajajaja, I love this post! So true in every way.

  4. Melissa
    February 3, 2011

    The phrase “chongivity activity” is now officially part of my lexicon.

    • Lauren
      February 4, 2011

      LOL snap your fingers as you use the word!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Share Us

Share on Facebook Add to Digg Add to Stumbleupon
Add to Reddit Add to Twitter Add to Yahoo Buzz

